Harry Kane’s brilliant goal against Arsenal took his Premier League total to 17 for the season and within sight of a historic achievement.

The England striker scored 21 league goals last season and if he were to breach the 20 goal mark again he’d join an elite group of Premier League strikers to do so in successive seasons.

Only eleven men have scored 20+ goals in two or more successive seasons and it’s basically a roll call of the best forwards in Premier League history.

Andy Cole, Matt Le Tissier, Les Ferdinand, Robbie Fowler, Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink, Carlos Tevez, Robin van Persie and Luis Suarez have all achieved the feat that Kane is three goals away from.

If Kane can join this group he can then look towards trying to match three of the most consistent strikers to have ever played in English football. Ruud van Nistelrooy was a 20+ man for Manchester United for three seasons in a row between 2001-02 and 2003-04, while Alan Shearer did it four times between 1993-94 and 1996-97.

Out in front is Thierry Henry, who rather painfully for Spurs fans notched 20 or more goals in five seasons from 2001-02 to 2005-06. There’s one to aim for Harry…

Two seasons in a row
Andy Cole 1993-94, 1994-95
Matt Le Tissier 1993-94, 1994-95
Robbie Fowler 1994-95, 1995-96
Les Ferdinand 1994-95, 1995-96
Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink 2000-01, 2001-02
Carlos Tevez 2009-10, 2010-11
Robin van Persie 2011-12, 2012-13
Luis Suarez 2012-13, 2013-14

Three seasons in a row
Ruud van Nistelrooy 2001-02, 2002-03, 2003-04

Four seasons in a row
Alan Shearer 1993-94, 1994-95, 1995-96, 1996-97

Five seasons in a row
Thierry Henry 2001-02, 2002-03, 2003-04, 2004-05, 2005-06




This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.