Harry Kane believes his “dive” against Arsenal would have been given as a foul had it occurred on the halfway line.
The Tottenham star went down under a challenge from Arsenal defender Sokratis in the latter stages of Sunday’s north London derby. With the scores tied at the time, there is a good chance Kane would have put the penalty away and won the game for Spurs given he had already confidently dispatched one spot-kick.
There has been plenty of discussion around whether Kane should have been awarded a penalty. Soktratis certainly appeared to push him in the back, but Kane appeared to be waiting for the foul and clearly attempted to create contact with his legs.
After the game, the striker was adamant he didn’t dive and made an interesting point about where the challenge happened on the pitch.
“I think it was that stage of the game where he makes a tired tackle,” Kane said (via Sky Sports).
“I think if I’m on the halfway line then I get it. When you’re in the box, it’s kind of 50-50.
“The ref probably thinks I’m looking for it but all I’m trying to do is shield the ball. It is what it is – it could be given in some games but it wasn’t today. You move on.”
Strangely, Kane wasn’t actually booked for simulation despite the awarding of a free-kick to Arsenal, which suggests the referee may not have been totally confident about his call. If only there was technology in place for the officials to have another look…
For what it’s worth, I don’t think it was a penalty. But Kane’s comment about it being a foul if it occurred deeper on the pitch is certainly a valid point – or is it? Let us know your thoughts in the comments section below.
The Premier League Panini Tabloid is a special commemorative newspaper sticker collection celebrating the exciting new partnership between the greatest league in the world and the legendary name in football publishing, Panini. Get yours by clicking here.